YAFLogo

jpweber
  • jpweber
  • 94.4% (Exalted)
  • YAF Commander Topic Starter
11 years ago
Hello. I had trouble upgrading from 1.95 ---> 1.96, although tha_watcha, among others, have been a huge help.

Namely, not being a hard core programmer, I had trouble with semantics like "Unzip the file structure YAF-BIN ZIP archive" -- when all I downloaded was "YAF-v1.9.6.1-RTW-SRC".

But that's water under the bridge. Can I just delete everything in my YAF directory and do a fresh install? Is this NOT recommended? My YAF is relatively new, so there are only 11 members, but can I keep my existing database that I already paid for via my web host? Would I just have to name it accordingly during the install?

Thanks for any help anybody can offer!
Jason Weber
USS Vision YAF 
"Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons"
Sponsor

squirrel
11 years ago
Originally Posted by: jpweber 

Hello. I had trouble upgrading from 1.95 ---> 1.96, although tha_watcha, among others, have been a huge help.

Namely, not being a hard core programmer, I had trouble with semantics like "Unzip the file structure YAF-BIN ZIP archive" -- when all I downloaded was "YAF-v1.9.6.1-RTW-SRC".

But that's water under the bridge. Can I just delete everything in my YAF directory and do a fresh install? Is this NOT recommended? My YAF is relatively new, so there are only 11 members, but can I keep my existing database that I already paid for via my web host? Would I just have to name it accordingly during the install?

Thanks for any help anybody can offer!

Essentially, an upgrade involves removing several YAF folders and clearing out files, unzip the archive to a local folder somewhere, update the config files to match your existing settings, then upload the software to the server and run the install wizard, referencing your old database. These are not exact instructions, but a rough 'idea' that you can use with the instructions in the readme file.