YAFLogo

markleeds
  • markleeds
  • 50.6% (Neutral)
  • YAF Forumling Topic Starter
2011-02-24T21:27:42Z
Hi, I have be been using YAF for a while on my website, however the site was hosted on my webmasters account, and as I wanted control and everything in my name I have now created my own hosting account and have the website running.

The problem i am having (according to my webmaster) is that the current version of YAF is IIS 7.0 and the hosting plan i am using is IIS 6.0. He gave me a reason as to why we couldn't go to IIS 7.0 but didn't really follow what he was saying as I am new to web site building/ managing. So my question is, is there a way to continue using YAF (with my old posts etc) in IIS 6.0 as when I go to select YAF as a free tool in my hosting package is says that it is incompatible.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Sponsor
squirrel
2011-02-24T23:48:32Z
Originally Posted by: markleeds 

Hi, I have be been using YAF for a while on my website, however the site was hosted on my webmasters account, and as I wanted control and everything in my name I have now created my own hosting account and have the website running.

The problem i am having (according to my webmaster) is that the current version of YAF is IIS 7.0 and the hosting plan i am using is IIS 6.0. He gave me a reason as to why we couldn't go to IIS 7.0 but didn't really follow what he was saying as I am new to web site building/ managing. So my question is, is there a way to continue using YAF (with my old posts etc) in IIS 6.0 as when I go to select YAF as a free tool in my hosting package is says that it is incompatible.

Thanks in advance for any help.

We run YAF on a Windows 2003 R2 webserver, which runs IIS-6, serving a forum of approx 2000 members with no issues.

You are having a configuration problem. YAF is ASP.NET 2.0/3.5 and 4.0 compatible (with a couple tweaks for the 4.0) and runs perfectly fine using IIS 6 or IIS 7 with SQL Express 2005 or 2008.