YAFLogo

Posted by: eutychus - Monday, 8 September 2014 15:41:47
Hello, friends ... I am trying to set up yet another forums on a brand new website, but a having problems getting past the connection string stage. I have tried the following formats in my db.config file: "Server=MYSQL5005.MySitePanel.net;Database=db_99c78f_yaf;Uid=99c78f_yaf;Pwd=YOUR_DB_PASSWORD;" or "Driver={MySQL ODBC 5.1 Driver};Server=MYSQL5005.MySitePanel.net;Database=db_99c78f_yaf;Uid=99c78f_yaf;Password=YOUR_DB_PASSWORD;" With either one, it either fails the database connection test or it says that the connection string is in the wrong format. Is there a different connection string format I should be using? Thanks!

Posted by: bbobb - Monday, 8 September 2014 18:21:48
Currently YAF doesn't work with MySQL. Even if you use some previous versions that worked you shoud use MySQL .NET connector.(ADODB)

Posted by: eutychus - Monday, 8 September 2014 19:17:14
Can you give me an example of a connection string I should be using then?

Posted by: eutychus - Wednesday, 10 September 2014 18:50:28
Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

Posted by: Zero2Cool - Wednesday, 10 September 2014 20:17:12
I don't use MySQL, but if you want MS SQL, this is what works. [code=sql][/code] [quote=eutychus;64445]Can you give me an example of a connection string I should be using then?[/quote]

Posted by: eutychus - Wednesday, 10 September 2014 21:10:23
Okay ... is it possible to use YAF with an access database (*.mdb) stored in the App_Data folder of an existing application?

Posted by: tha_watcha - Wednesday, 10 September 2014 22:11:09
No only ms sql is upported

Posted by: eutychus - Wednesday, 10 September 2014 23:16:26
Good enough! Thanks for your help!

Posted by: eutychus - Thursday, 11 September 2014 19:22:02
Woot! It works!

Posted by: bbobb - Thursday, 11 September 2014 20:21:13
[quote=tha_watcha;64466]No only ms sql is upported[/quote] Keep in mind that: 1. My scripts for MySQL, Firebird and Postgre are under GPLv2, that is incompatable with current YAF's Apachev2 version. Normally,you can use it with previous YAF versions only before the license was changed to Apache2. 2. I was fixing bugs for more than in year in my personal vzf code only, you will have troubles, because many things were changed and you can't use the scripta from the box. 3.Jaben's changes in datalayer don't fit with data layers because some data types should be prepared first. You will be forced to apply patches to ORM. I just warned you about pitfalls. If I were you a would stick to MSSQL Server in the current situation.

Posted by: eutychus - Sunday, 14 September 2014 14:43:15
One quick suggestion. It might do well to mention in the installation instructions that it must be an MS SQL database. When I read it, it just said to create a database which, to most users, would suggest MySQL. I think mentioning that in the instructions would save a lot of frustration with us newbies.

Posted by: tha_watcha - Saturday, 20 September 2014 09:38:21
[quote=eutychus;64516]One quick suggestion. It might do well to mention in the installation instructions that it must be an MS SQL database. When I read it, it just said to create a database which, to most users, would suggest MySQL. I think mentioning that in the instructions would save a lot of frustration with us newbies.[/quote] Not sure which install instructions you mean but in the documentation (wiki) https://github.com/YAFNET/YAFNET/wiki/Installation It already says in the Installation Requirements ... "Microsoft SQL Server 2005 or above."