muller2
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 01/11/2007
Hi,

I have added a master page to my yaf project and I have got the default working with that. I now have yaf running inside a table (2 col - 1 for forum, 1 for ads) and I now want to break the yafheader (which displays the 'logged in as:' and the 'login'/'logout' links about my 2 column table.

I have been looking but I'm not 100% sure how to break the yafheader out. Has anyone done anything like this before or is there another way?

Thanks,

Al
Sponsor
mddubs
  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: 07/08/2008
There's no easy way to do that. You could modify the source to hide the menu bar, then create your own. Search the forums on how to hide the menu bar, it's just a single bool value set from true to false. The next release will contain a config key to hide/show the menu bar easily.

Other than that, maybe some fancy javascript could do the job.
UserPostedImage 
www.bunkerhollow.com  | www.careercomputing.com 
When I post fp:mddubs in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting. (Yes I stole this off Mek 🙂, who stole this off Ederon 🙂 )
Jaben
  • Posts: 2544
  • Joined: 09/10/2004
Create a control that is derived from the yaf.Header. Then assign it in forum specification:

<YAF:Forum id="Forum1" Header="MyYafHeader" />

Works with the footer too. YAF will use the header control supplied.

EDIT: This is for YAF v1.9.1.x
muller2
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 01/11/2007
Hi Jaben

do you mean the user control needs to be derived from YAF.Controls.Header?

This is what I have done:

public partial class myheader : YAF.Controls.Header
{
protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
{

}
}

but it won't compile and when I use yaf.header it won't compile either as yef.header isn't an option in the drop down.

Can you show me what I need to do to break the header out?

Thanks,

Al
Jaben
  • Posts: 2544
  • Joined: 09/10/2004
Which version of YAF are you using?
muller2
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 01/11/2007
YAF v1.9.3 RC2
muller2
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 01/11/2007
Jaben is it possible in the RC2 version of YAF?
Jaben
  • Posts: 2544
  • Joined: 09/10/2004
As a rule I do not assist with customizations or programmers lack of knowledge. But if you provide exactly WHY it's not compiling maybe someone would assist.

This is mostly your leg work -- don't expect us to do much.
Forum Jump  
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum.
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
  • You cannot create polls in this forum.
  • You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

About Us

The YAF.NET is an open source .NET forum project. YAF.NET is supported by an team of international developers who are build community by building community software.

Powered by Resharper Donate with PayPal button

Project Twitter Updates

Copyright © YetAnotherForum.NET & Ingo Herbote. All rights reserved