Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline tecman  
#1 Posted : 21 September 2018 14:52:24(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 149

Thanks: 8 times
I found that syntax highlighting for Visual Basic code does not work in the release version of YAF 2.2.4.14. It works for other languages like C# but not for VB. Is there an easy fix for this problem?
Sponsor
Offline tha_watcha  
#2 Posted : 26 September 2018 12:02:25(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,965
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1197 time(s) in 1025 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
I found that syntax highlighting for Visual Basic code does not work in the release version of YAF 2.2.4.14. It works for other languages like C# but not for VB. Is there an easy fix for this problem?


Will be fixed with the next update. You can download the updates js file from the stable branch

https://github.com/YAFNE...y.ForumExtensions.min.js

Offline tecman  
#3 Posted : 26 September 2018 17:02:33(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 149

Thanks: 8 times
Is it enough just to replace the current file Scripts/jquery.ForumExtensions.min.js with that one to fix the problem (no compilations, etc.)? I did that but see no effect.

Edited by user 26 September 2018 17:36:42(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline tha_watcha  
#4 Posted : 26 September 2018 18:08:19(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,965
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1197 time(s) in 1025 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
Is it enough just to replace the current file Scripts/jquery.ForumExtensions.min.js with that one to fix the problem (no compilations, etc.)? I did that but see no effect.


Did you clear the browser cache or to force the browser to reload the javascript?
Offline tecman  
#5 Posted : 27 September 2018 08:57:16(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 149

Thanks: 8 times
Yes, cache cleaning helped. However, I expected that replacing the .js file with a newer version on the server should force browsers to download the fresh version of the scripts automatically. Now it looks like I need to ask all users of our forum to clean their browser caches to make syntax highlighting work.
Is there a way to fix this issue on our side? Say, relaunch the forum application or update default.aspx or something like that?
Offline tha_watcha  
#6 Posted : 27 September 2018 16:55:57(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,965
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1197 time(s) in 1025 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
Yes, cache cleaning helped. However, I expected that replacing the .js file with a newer version on the server should force browsers to download the fresh version of the scripts automatically. Now it looks like I need to ask all users of our forum to clean their browser caches to make syntax highlighting work.
Is there a way to fix this issue on our side? Say, relaunch the forum application or update default.aspx or something like that?


The only solution would be to change the url and add a versionnumber to the js url for example like...

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="myfile.js?1500"></script>


But that would require that the number needs to be stored in the app.config for example. But that would require an manual update every time there is a new release.

I need to find a better solution for this problem. At the moment the only option is to Press CTRL+F5 to reload the page and force a reload.

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error