Dr-Hack
  • Posts: 160
  • Joined: 31/12/2004
DNN Version: 5.6.1
YAF Version upgrading to: 1.9.5.5 (upgrading from 1.9.5)
ASP.NET Version: 4.0

Wanted to ask if the YAF DNN module is to be upgraded by just installing the new module over the existing one using "Install Extension Wizard" and then running /DesktopModules/etAnotherForumDotNet/install ?!

Performed the upgrade using the 2 steps mentioned above. After the upgrade, most of the Admin area is all blank i dont know whats wrong ...

the attached images will be self explanatory

any ideas?

Thanks
Dr-Hack attached the following image(s):

Sponsor
Jaben
  • Posts: 2544
  • Joined: 09/10/2004
Looks like a problem with your language files not being loaded properly. Verifying that the language files were properly moved to in your updated DNN installation.

 tha_watcha might have a better idea.


tha_watcha
  • Posts: 4130
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
Quote:

Wanted to ask if the YAF DNN module is to be upgraded by just installing the new module over the existing one using "Install Extension Wizard" and then running /DesktopModules/yetAnotherForumDotNet/install ?!



That is correct.

Can you take a look in the languages folder if the files where correctly been updated. You may need to manually extract the files from the zip file and copy them manually to the /DesktopModules/yetAnotherForumDotNet/ folder
UserPostedImage
Dr-Hack
  • Posts: 160
  • Joined: 31/12/2004
Thanks  Jaben &  tha_watcha

I manually updated the new YAF upgrade from the .zip file and still getting the same ... Where else to look now ? ..

What i am not getting is .. Why only the admin area is showing this ? language files are used on the front page of the forum aswell .. ? .. if you see the second image above you there is this "Yetanotherforum.Net Help" written , not getting that, where else to check now ?

Any more pointers please?


Thanks alot .. cant wait to start using it
tha_watcha
  • Posts: 4130
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
Quote:

Why only the admin area is showing this ?



Because that areas are newly localized in that release.

Did you update all files, also the ascx files?

Also the dlls?

By the way you always have to restart dnn to see the languages changes.
UserPostedImage
Dr-Hack
  • Posts: 160
  • Joined: 31/12/2004

Dr-Hack
  • Posts: 160
  • Joined: 31/12/2004
Ok the problem turned out to be quite weird. I had edited the previous (v1.9.5) english.xml and had a backup of it named "english - Copy.xml" placed in the same directory. On removing this backup "english - Copy.xml", the menus and everything started working properly.

Why wasnt the file "english.xml" being used in the presence of "english - Copy.xml" ?!

Thanks 🙂
Users browsing this topic
    Forum Jump  
    • You cannot post new topics in this forum.
    • You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
    • You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
    • You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
    • You cannot create polls in this forum.
    • You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

    About Us

    The YAF.NET is an open source .NET forum project. YAF.NET is supported by an team of international developers who are build community by building community software.

    Powered by Resharper Donate with PayPal button

    Project Twitter Updates

    Copyright © YetAnotherForum.NET & Ingo Herbote. All rights reserved