Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
4 Pages«<234
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Underground  
#46 Posted : Monday, April 4, 2011 1:28:13 PM(UTC)
Underground


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 6/4/2009(UTC)
Posts: 103

Thanks Given:
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
I check on a regular base the SVN, because we have the email problem on our side. The emails are send with a huge delay (digest is off) and will then get a burst of emails.
Problem is, that password recovery (reset) won't work, because users don't get an email.

Frustrating, so I am waiting for the next release.
BUT, now I see that you have converted it to .NET 4. Oeps, I am running IIS6 on WK2003, so .NET 4 is not an option for me.
My questions are:
- Are you still providing binaries for .NET 3.5, or is .NET 4 the minimum supported version as of 1.9.5.6
- Is it possible to publish the intermediate builds? So, I can install them on my (test) site. If found OK, I can publish it on the site itself.

- Robert

edit:
Bummer! Just saw the twitter message that it will become .NET 4 only.
This means the end of yaf for me I am afraid. Looks like I have to branche.

Thanks for the work so far, but this is the end of the line for me.

Edited by user Monday, April 4, 2011 1:31:55 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

My site containing the YAF forum: Globalcaching.eu
Offline Dimi  
#47 Posted : Monday, April 4, 2011 3:06:46 PM(UTC)
Dimi


Rank: YAF All-the-Time

Reputation:

Joined: 1/15/2011(UTC)
Posts: 211

Thanks: 59 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Underground Go to Quoted Post
Bummer! Just saw the twitter message that it will become .NET 4 only.
This means the end of yaf for me I am afraid. Looks like I have to branche.

Thanks for the work so far, but this is the end of the line for me.

Are you serious? Why don't you install .NET 4.0 on your server? What's the real reason? You can create a useful setup. We're still using 1.1 for some old apps, don't ask why, we still have to. But the same 64-bit server supports 1.1, 3.5 and 4.0 at the same time. I saw couple publications on the Internet explaining why IIS doesn't simultaneously work with 1.1 and 4.0. Well, it works just fine in our setup for 7 or more months so far.

Edited by user Monday, April 4, 2011 3:14:03 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Dimi
UserPostedImage
Offline bbobb  
#48 Posted : Monday, April 4, 2011 9:32:36 PM(UTC)
bbobb


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.Medal of Honor for a YAF Database Key Player: Holds the key to YAF database. Bow down!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given for answering tons of support questions and generally helping the community.Medal of Honor for the Support Knight: Given to a community member who has answered lots of support questions.

Joined: 10/21/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,558
Man
Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Thanks: 51 times
Was thanked: 288 time(s) in 254 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Dimi Go to Quoted Post


How about licence fee? Wanna be a sponsor?Confused
If you ran it at a hosting provider in a shared environment you're having it. But it's not the case with a dedicated server.
Offline Dimi  
#49 Posted : Monday, April 4, 2011 9:35:56 PM(UTC)
Dimi


Rank: YAF All-the-Time

Reputation:

Joined: 1/15/2011(UTC)
Posts: 211

Thanks: 59 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: bbobb Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Dimi Go to Quoted Post


How about licence fee? Wanna be a sponsor?Confused
If you ran it at a hosting provider in a shared environment you're having it. But it's not the case with a dedicated server.

Did you mean teh license for IIS? Why can't you install .NET 4.0 on what you're using now? Some unresolvable limitations?
Dimi
UserPostedImage
Offline bbobb  
#50 Posted : Monday, April 4, 2011 9:46:00 PM(UTC)
bbobb


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.Medal of Honor for a YAF Database Key Player: Holds the key to YAF database. Bow down!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given for answering tons of support questions and generally helping the community.Medal of Honor for the Support Knight: Given to a community member who has answered lots of support questions.

Joined: 10/21/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,558
Man
Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Thanks: 51 times
Was thanked: 288 time(s) in 254 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Dimi Go to Quoted Post

Did you mean teh license for IIS? Why can't you install .NET 4.0 on what you're using now? Some unresolvable limitations?

No, I mean a licence for the whole bunch of compatible code.

I personally use 4.0 + IIS7.5, but I never add a code which can be 3.5 incompatible for this branch.
I personally think that an application should support current framework version - 1 at a release date.


Offline Underground  
#51 Posted : Tuesday, April 5, 2011 4:00:38 AM(UTC)
Underground


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 6/4/2009(UTC)
Posts: 103

Thanks Given:
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
@Demi:
Yes, I am serious, deadly serious.
I have also developed .NET application that people can download. And for sure, I won't force the users to go to .NET 4, because it too fresh to force them. Also, my code doesn't need the .NET 4 stack.

But things are even more, far more, critical for servers. Large amount of users use the website. Yaf is not the only thing running on the server. I have a dedicated server running in a data center. Upgrading the server involves huge amount of time and risks. Yes, at home on my PC, I just upgrade. But a remote server is something else.
Note that I need to go to IIS7+ in order to use .NET 4. This is not standard on W2K3. Meaning I have to upgrade all sites etc.

For sure, I need to move to another server in a year maybe. Then I can install everything on the new server preparing it in the background and I can move within minutes/hours. But for now, I cannot take the risk of crashing the system.

I did revert to the version in the repository to just before the .NET4 conversion. I will try to go from there, to see if I can fix the email problem.
Too bad, I liked to follow YAF and be up to date. But the developers have made their choise.
My site containing the YAF forum: Globalcaching.eu
Offline JP  
#52 Posted : Tuesday, April 5, 2011 12:27:37 PM(UTC)
JP


Rank: YAF Leader

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor for Bug Finder: Given for kick-assery at finding bugs by being excellent at QA.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.

Joined: 1/8/2009(UTC)
Posts: 398

Thanks: 86 times
Was thanked: 39 time(s) in 35 post(s)
I notice that this support forum is now running 1.9.5.6 - Will it be released to us YAF lovers in the near future? Wink
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Offline SilhouetteBS  
#53 Posted : Saturday, April 9, 2011 9:52:09 PM(UTC)
SilhouetteBS


Rank: YAF Lover

Reputation:

Joined: 10/29/2010(UTC)
Posts: 37

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Jaben, any word on when 1.9.5.6 will be available?
Offline naphong  
#54 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 2:41:13 AM(UTC)
naphong


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 4/28/2011(UTC)
Posts: 4

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
It can solve your problem,please look in below
http://forum.yetanotherf...ser-Login.aspx#post49557
Offline antspiteri  
#55 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2011 8:13:39 AM(UTC)
antspiteri


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 4/8/2011(UTC)
Posts: 8

Thanks: 1 times
Hi guys ive recently tried upgrading from 1.9.5 RC 1 to the latest release but ran into a couple of errors. Is this even possible? Or should I try upgrading from each individual version till i get to the latest.

P.S I read the readme with the build but still had multiple errors.
Offline squirrel  
#56 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2011 8:53:45 AM(UTC)
squirrel


Rank: YAF Leader

Reputation:

Medals: YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports the YAF.NET project with a contribution.YAF.NET Purple Supporter: Purple heart for being an Asset to the YAF.NET Community.YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: A huge help to the YAF.NET community!

Joined: 1/14/2010(UTC)
Posts: 925

Thanks: 251 times
Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 161 post(s)
Generally upgrading from a 'beta' version is not supported. Part of the reason beta and RC versions are not recommended for production servers. What is the nature of your errors (please start a new thread in either the Installation forum or Bugs/Issues forum) for possible help.
If you can't find it using the forum search, try my signature link -- searches this site using Google: Google is my Friend
Offline bbobb  
#57 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2011 12:11:21 PM(UTC)
bbobb


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.Medal of Honor for a YAF Database Key Player: Holds the key to YAF database. Bow down!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given for answering tons of support questions and generally helping the community.Medal of Honor for the Support Knight: Given to a community member who has answered lots of support questions.

Joined: 10/21/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,558
Man
Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Thanks: 51 times
Was thanked: 288 time(s) in 254 post(s)
Upgrading should be supported by YAF code from all versions. At least if you use 1.9.5.x there should not be any problems - beta or not beta - no matter.
thanks 1 user thanked bbobb for this useful post.
squirrel on 8/25/2011(UTC)
Offline BWG  
#58 Posted : Sunday, December 4, 2011 2:54:23 AM(UTC)
BWG


Rank: YAF Lover

Reputation:

Joined: 1/19/2010(UTC)
Posts: 63

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Underground Go to Quoted Post
@Demi:

Note that I need to go to IIS7+ in order to use .NET 4. This is not standard on W2K3. Meaning I have to upgrade all sites etc.

.


.NET 4 runs on IIS 6 / Win 2003.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
4 Pages«<234
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error