Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
4 Pages<1234>
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline tommy382  
#16 Posted : Saturday, March 5, 2011 10:37:08 PM(UTC)
tommy382


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 4/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 91

Thanks: 10 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Permission for what user? The "users" account already have FULL permission - I made it full to be safe.

Update: I even allow "everyone" account FULL permission, doesn't help. The [assembly:] attribute in the link you gave apply on which file?

Edited by user Saturday, March 5, 2011 10:59:14 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline tommy382  
#17 Posted : Saturday, March 5, 2011 11:27:13 PM(UTC)
tommy382


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 4/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 91

Thanks: 10 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
I found a fix for this security issue. For some reason, if I use .NET 4.0 to power the forum, it works. If I use .NET 3.5sp1 to power the forum, the security error pop-up 99% of the times - 1% it works normally even when the application pool is .NET 2.0 (v3.5sp1 installed but referenced as ".NET 2.0" in IIS7).

I checked every projects in the YAF solution and they all have target set to .NET 3.5, not 4.0. This is weird but I don't mind running using .NET 4.0. Any known issue w/ the forum running with .NET 4.0? I have been running w/ 3.5 until now.
Offline midwestSS  
#18 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 12:20:53 AM(UTC)
midwestSS


Rank: YAF MVP

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor for Bug Finder: Given for kick-assery at finding bugs by being excellent at QA.Medal of Open Source Contributer: Given to someone who gets open source and gives back to the community.

Joined: 8/16/2008(UTC)
Posts: 357

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
im finding an issue after i upgraded my site, that when you click the login button, its putting a # in the url
such as silveradoss.net/# this is causing the logon box to pop up.. then go away before you can type in it...
Offline squirrel  
#19 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 7:32:24 AM(UTC)
squirrel


Rank: YAF Leader

Reputation:

Medals: YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports the YAF.NET project with a contribution.YAF.NET Purple Supporter: Purple heart for being an Asset to the YAF.NET Community.YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: A huge help to the YAF.NET community!

Joined: 1/14/2010(UTC)
Posts: 925

Thanks: 251 times
Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 161 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tommy382 Go to Quoted Post
I found a fix for this security issue. For some reason, if I use .NET 4.0 to power the forum, it works. If I use .NET 3.5sp1 to power the forum, the security error pop-up 99% of the times - 1% it works normally even when the application pool is .NET 2.0 (v3.5sp1 installed but referenced as ".NET 2.0" in IIS7).

I checked every projects in the YAF solution and they all have target set to .NET 3.5, not 4.0. This is weird but I don't mind running using .NET 4.0. Any known issue w/ the forum running with .NET 4.0? I have been running w/ 3.5 until now.


Your issue is related to a TRUST setting. I've run in to this before both on my development server and on a Plesk based IIS 6 server. Granting the application Full Trust resolved it on my end.
If you can't find it using the forum search, try my signature link -- searches this site using Google: Google is my Friend
Offline Jaben  
#20 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 8:07:22 PM(UTC)
Jaben


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 10/9/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,549
Location: United States

Thanks: 142 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 199 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tommy382 Go to Quoted Post
Permission for what user? The "users" account already have FULL permission - I made it full to be safe.

Update: I even allow "everyone" account FULL permission, doesn't help. The [assembly:] attribute in the link you gave apply on which file?

I tried with .NET v3.5 and I still couldn't reproduce the issue. Is anyone else having this problem?
Offline squirrel  
#21 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 8:49:48 PM(UTC)
squirrel


Rank: YAF Leader

Reputation:

Medals: YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports the YAF.NET project with a contribution.YAF.NET Purple Supporter: Purple heart for being an Asset to the YAF.NET Community.YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: A huge help to the YAF.NET community!

Joined: 1/14/2010(UTC)
Posts: 925

Thanks: 251 times
Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 161 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jaben Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: tommy382 Go to Quoted Post
Permission for what user? The "users" account already have FULL permission - I made it full to be safe.

Update: I even allow "everyone" account FULL permission, doesn't help. The [assembly:] attribute in the link you gave apply on which file?

I tried with .NET v3.5 and I still couldn't reproduce the issue. Is anyone else having this problem?


It's a rarity that it occurred to me -- but it did happen right after AutoFac appeared in the SVN that I hit it. When I search the error in general most .NET users have had the issue when accessing files that don't have sufficient permissions in the directory tree (not related to YAF or AutoFac so to speak, either).
If you can't find it using the forum search, try my signature link -- searches this site using Google: Google is my Friend
Offline midwestSS  
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 8:39:59 AM(UTC)
midwestSS


Rank: YAF MVP

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor for Bug Finder: Given for kick-assery at finding bugs by being excellent at QA.Medal of Open Source Contributer: Given to someone who gets open source and gives back to the community.

Joined: 8/16/2008(UTC)
Posts: 357

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Is there something different in this RTW in regards to timing at the login?
what i mean is, ive got this in a dev environment, looking at a backup of my production database. as i usually do.
while im having login issues (web.config.. i know).. im seeing that i try to login.. just goes back to the main screen, not logged in.. i try to login again, the logon box comes up.. and disappears quickly, going back to the main forum screen.. however if i wait a minute or two, and then try to login, the login box stays, i can put in my username\pw and of course due to web.config, its going back to the main screen, not logged in..

so.. do you know why i have to wait to re try the login?
Offline squirrel  
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 9:20:19 AM(UTC)
squirrel


Rank: YAF Leader

Reputation:

Medals: YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports the YAF.NET project with a contribution.YAF.NET Purple Supporter: Purple heart for being an Asset to the YAF.NET Community.YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: A huge help to the YAF.NET community!

Joined: 1/14/2010(UTC)
Posts: 925

Thanks: 251 times
Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 161 post(s)
Originally Posted by: midwestSS Go to Quoted Post
Is there something different in this RTW in regards to timing at the login?
what i mean is, ive got this in a dev environment, looking at a backup of my production database. as i usually do.
while im having login issues (web.config.. i know).. im seeing that i try to login.. just goes back to the main screen, not logged in.. i try to login again, the logon box comes up.. and disappears quickly, going back to the main forum screen.. however if i wait a minute or two, and then try to login, the login box stays, i can put in my username\pw and of course due to web.config, its going back to the main screen, not logged in..

so.. do you know why i have to wait to re try the login?


Try turning off the Modal Login boxes in your config. We had an issue with them a while back in the SVN phase.
If you can't find it using the forum search, try my signature link -- searches this site using Google: Google is my Friend
Offline midwestSS  
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 9:24:28 AM(UTC)
midwestSS


Rank: YAF MVP

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor for Bug Finder: Given for kick-assery at finding bugs by being excellent at QA.Medal of Open Source Contributer: Given to someone who gets open source and gives back to the community.

Joined: 8/16/2008(UTC)
Posts: 357

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
can you point me in the right direction for that?
Offline tommy382  
#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 1:22:28 PM(UTC)
tommy382


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 4/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 91

Thanks: 10 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Found another issue: clicking on admin\users and roles\roles ran into this error (line 108):
Code:
Index was outside the bounds of the array.
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.

Source Error:

Line 106:                bool isLast = false;
Line 107:              
Line 108:                foreach (string row in styles)
Line 109:                {
Line 110:                    {


Source File: D:\!Sites\Yaf1955RTW\YAF.Controls\UserStyles.cs    Line: 108

Stack Trace:

[IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.]
   YAF.Controls.RoleRankStyles.Render(HtmlTextWriter writer) in D:\!Sites\Yaf1955RTW\YAF.Controls\UserStyles.cs:108
   System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildrenInternal(HtmlTextWriter writer, ICollection children) +246
   System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildrenInternal(HtmlTextWriter writer, ICollection children) +246
   System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildrenInternal(HtmlTextWriter writer, ICollection children) +246
   YAF.Controls.AdminMenu.Render(HtmlTextWriter writer) in D:\!Sites\Yaf1955RTW\YAF.Controls\YafAdminMenu\AdminMenu.cs:225
   System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildrenInternal(HtmlTextWriter writer, ICollection children) +246
   YAF.Core.ForumPage.Render(HtmlTextWriter writer) in D:\!Sites\Yaf1955RTW\YAF.Core\BasePages\ForumPage.cs:561
   System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildrenInternal(HtmlTextWriter writer, ICollection children) +246
   YAF.Forum.Render(HtmlTextWriter writer) +338
   System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildrenInternal(HtmlTextWriter writer, ICollection children) +246
   System.Web.UI.HtmlControls.HtmlForm.RenderChildren(HtmlTextWriter writer) +315
   System.Web.UI.HtmlControls.HtmlContainerControl.Render(HtmlTextWriter writer) +48
   System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildrenInternal(HtmlTextWriter writer, ICollection children) +246
   System.Web.UI.Page.Render(HtmlTextWriter writer) +40
   System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +5274
Offline squirrel  
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 2:12:14 PM(UTC)
squirrel


Rank: YAF Leader

Reputation:

Medals: YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports the YAF.NET project with a contribution.YAF.NET Purple Supporter: Purple heart for being an Asset to the YAF.NET Community.YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: A huge help to the YAF.NET community!

Joined: 1/14/2010(UTC)
Posts: 925

Thanks: 251 times
Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 161 post(s)
Originally Posted by: midwestSS Go to Quoted Post
can you point me in the right direction for that?


It's unfortunately in the host settings, which if you can't login, you can't get to. I'll look up where it's stored in the database and get you an SQL hack for it you can run.
If you can't find it using the forum search, try my signature link -- searches this site using Google: Google is my Friend
Offline squirrel  
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 4:00:30 PM(UTC)
squirrel


Rank: YAF Leader

Reputation:

Medals: YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports the YAF.NET project with a contribution.YAF.NET Purple Supporter: Purple heart for being an Asset to the YAF.NET Community.YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: A huge help to the YAF.NET community!

Joined: 1/14/2010(UTC)
Posts: 925

Thanks: 251 times
Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 161 post(s)
Originally Posted by: squirrel Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: midwestSS Go to Quoted Post
can you point me in the right direction for that?


It's unfortunately in the host settings, which if you can't login, you can't get to. I'll look up where it's stored in the database and get you an SQL hack for it you can run.


As promised - the following will set the modal login box to disabled via the YAF_Registry table. You might have to alter it to reflect the proper database owner name (and table prefix if you are not using the default prefix of YAF_). This needs to be run in an SQL Query either using SQL Management Studio or whatever tool you have that allows you to run a query against your SQL server.

Code:

UPDATE dbo.yaf_Registry SET Value = 0 WHERE Name = 'useloginbox'


You will then need to restart the application pool serving your YAF forum. This can be done by making a change to your web.config (such as inserting a simple carriage return somewhere and saving) if you don't have access to your IIS controls for the server. ASP.NET recycles it's app pool when changes are made to the web.config file.

Edited by user Tuesday, March 8, 2011 4:03:12 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you can't find it using the forum search, try my signature link -- searches this site using Google: Google is my Friend
thanks 1 user thanked squirrel for this useful post.
Jaben on 3/8/2011(UTC)
Offline bbobb  
#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 11:00:19 PM(UTC)
bbobb


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.Medal of Honor for a YAF Database Key Player: Holds the key to YAF database. Bow down!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given for answering tons of support questions and generally helping the community.Medal of Honor for the Support Knight: Given to a community member who has answered lots of support questions.

Joined: 10/21/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,558
Man
Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Thanks: 51 times
Was thanked: 288 time(s) in 254 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tommy382 Go to Quoted Post
Found another issue: clicking on admin\users and roles\roles ran into this error (line 108):

Really, I can't reproduce itConfused , anyway it should be fixed in the latest svn as far as I can see.
Offline midwestSS  
#29 Posted : Wednesday, March 9, 2011 7:39:56 AM(UTC)
midwestSS


Rank: YAF MVP

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor for Bug Finder: Given for kick-assery at finding bugs by being excellent at QA.Medal of Open Source Contributer: Given to someone who gets open source and gives back to the community.

Joined: 8/16/2008(UTC)
Posts: 357

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: bbobb Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: tommy382 Go to Quoted Post
Found another issue: clicking on admin\users and roles\roles ran into this error (line 108):

Really, I can't reproduce itConfused , anyway it should be fixed in the latest svn as far as I can see.


i can confirm this issue.. have it on mine with this release..

Offline SilhouetteBS  
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 9, 2011 12:30:51 PM(UTC)
SilhouetteBS


Rank: YAF Lover

Reputation:

Joined: 10/29/2010(UTC)
Posts: 37

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
FYI - The Readme.htm under Step 3 for upgrading it says that the config files are in folder called /webconfigs. The folder does not exist in this version. Both configs are on the root.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
4 Pages<1234>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error