Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
2 Pages12>
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline tecman  
#1 Posted : 06 August 2018 18:02:34(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
I saw that the v2.2.4.13 is available and decided to upgrade from the v2.2.4.12 to the newest version to fix the problem with uploading attachments to the private messages and apply all recent updates in the forum engine.

I encountered the first critical problem after uploading the updated files of the v2.2.4.13 to the server. It was "Internal Server Error" - the forum did not want to launch at all. After some thinking about what it could be I decided to upload the previous version of web.config to the server - and it helped to launch the forum. So it seems the new web.config contains a parameter that prevents the forum from launching, but I did not have enough time to play with the config file to find the culprit.

Ok. The forum was running, and I saw the new cookie consent notification at the bottom of my Google Chrome's window. As for me, it was a little bit clumsy (sorry):
2018-08-04_10h01_45.png
Another problem with it that I could not close the notification pane by clicking the Close button

Well, I tried the new forum engine in FireFox and saw this:
2018-08-04_10h03_06.png
The black background looked worse, but at least, I could close the cookie notification in this browser.

I realized that I need to return to the previous stable version 2.2.4.12 and did that. It turned out that I have the same problem with button right borders in it too:
2018-08-06_17h06_36.png

Can you fix all these problems in the next update of the forum engine?

BTW, I found one more strange thing in the v2.2.4.12 after doing all these manipulations. Look at how code blocks are displayed now in our forum:
2018-08-06_15h39_34.png
There was no hatch background earlier - code snippets were placed over proper formed rectangles in all previous versions!

Can it be a problem in the forum files on our side? If so, how to fix it?

Edited by user 13 August 2018 11:13:21(UTC)  | Reason: Changed post status from 'issue' to 'solved'

Sponsor
Offline tecman  
#2 Posted : 07 August 2018 14:42:18(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
I've temporarily fixed the problem with hatched code blocks by changing /Content/forum.min.css. I replaced
Quote:
background:url('data:image/svg+xml;charset=utf-8,<svg%20version%3D"1.1"%20xmlns%3D"http%3A%2F%2Fwww.w3.org%2F2000%2Fsvg"%20width%3D"100"%20height%3D"100"%20fill%3D"rgba(0%2C0%2C0%2C.2)">%0D%0A<polygon%20points%3D"0%2C50%2050%2C0%200%2C0"%20%2F>%0D%0A<polygon%20points%3D"0%2C100%2050%2C100%20100%2C50%20100%2C0"%20%2F>%0D%0A<%2Fsvg>');background-size:1em 1em;

with simple
Quote:
background-color:black;

And it seems, now all code blocks look much nicer - as earlier or almost as earlier.
Offline tecman  
#3 Posted : 07 August 2018 14:55:42(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
If you know how to quickly fix the problem with "teared" button right borders, let me know, please.
Offline tha_watcha  
#4 Posted : 07 August 2018 15:45:46(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,879
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1181 time(s) in 1011 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
If you know how to quickly fix the problem with "teared" button right borders, let me know, please.


I updated the downloads the buttons are fixed now. Also the issue with the web.configs is fixed.

https://github.com/YAFNE...T/releases/tag/v2.2.4.13

Offline tha_watcha  
#5 Posted : 07 August 2018 15:48:05(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,879
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1181 time(s) in 1011 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post


BTW, I found one more strange thing in the v2.2.4.12 after doing all these manipulations. Look at how code blocks are displayed now in our forum:
2018-08-06_15h39_34.png
There was no hatch background earlier - code snippets were placed over proper formed rectangles in all previous versions!


That's a different theme now, then the one used before. At the moment you would need to recompile the forum.scss with a different theme. I working on a better solution.
Offline tecman  
#6 Posted : 07 August 2018 18:19:52(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
Why did you change the theme we have been using successfully for many years?? The 'So Fresh, So Clean' ideally suits our needs and corresponds to the color theme of our website. Which parts of this theme were changed? Which theme should we use now?
Originally Posted by: tha_watcha Go to Quoted Post
At the moment you would need to recompile the forum.scss with a different theme.

Sorry, I didn't understand this. Perhaps, I need to wait for the next official update of the forum engine to upgrade. Say, v2.2.4.14 or even 2.2.5...
Offline tha_watcha  
#7 Posted : 07 August 2018 18:49:30(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,879
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1181 time(s) in 1011 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
Why did you change the theme we have been using successfully for many years?? The 'So Fresh, So Clean' ideally suits our needs and corresponds to the color theme of our website. Which parts of this theme were changed? Which theme should we use now?
Originally Posted by: tha_watcha Go to Quoted Post
At the moment you would need to recompile the forum.scss with a different theme.

Sorry, I didn't understand this. Perhaps, I need to wait for the next official update of the forum engine to upgrade. Say, v2.2.4.14 or even 2.2.5...


No sorry i didn't mean the forum theme. I was referring to the theme for the syntax highlighter. The syntax highligher has is own themes, but the only way of using a different theme right now would be to use a different prism,css when compiling the forum.css.

Offline tecman  
#8 Posted : 09 August 2018 16:19:09(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
Originally Posted by: tha_watcha Go to Quoted Post
I updated the downloads the buttons are fixed now. Also the issue with the web.configs is fixed.
https://github.com/YAFNE...T/releases/tag/v2.2.4.13

I download the updated installation package and uploaded it to the web server, but still has the following error when I try to access any page of the forum:
Quote:
The page cannot be displayed because an internal server error has occurred.

I compared web.config's in the new zip and the previous one I had saved and didn't find any changes!

I tried to compare the web.config from the stable v2.2.4.12 I saved and the new v2.2.4.13 and add the missing keys one-by-one to the new web.config. I could launch the forum after adding this key:
Code:
<validation validateIntegratedModeConfiguration="false" />

Edited by user 09 August 2018 16:27:42(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline tecman  
#9 Posted : 09 August 2018 16:38:40(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
After I launched the updated forum this way, I checked the problem points again. Here is what still does not work.

First, the upload dialog stopped working in private messages again.

Second, the buttons in the <Wanna join the discussion?!> block are drawn correctly, but the whole block looks like the following depending on the browser's window width:
2018-08-09_17h35_48.png

FYI: I tried to upload several pictures, but at some point the upload dialog stopped working on this forum (http://yetanotherforum.net/forum). I could upload just this one picture, and the upload dialog does not work anymore.

Fix all these problems in the forum engine installation ASAP, PLEASE!!

Edited by user 09 August 2018 19:08:37(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline tha_watcha  
#10 Posted : 09 August 2018 19:31:49(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,879
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1181 time(s) in 1011 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post

I tried to compare the web.config from the stable v2.2.4.12 I saved and the new v2.2.4.13 and add the missing keys one-by-one to the new web.config. I could launch the forum after adding this key:
Code:
<validation validateIntegratedModeConfiguration="false" />


Okay i will add it back in 2.2.4.14 at least in my tests it was working without that line

Quote:
First, the upload dialog stopped working in private messages again


Found the issue will be fixed soon, new version on the weekend!

Quote:
Second, the buttons in the <Wanna join the discussion?!> block are drawn correctly, but the whole block looks like the following depending on the browser's window width:


I will provide a better solution for that old theme, if you prefer you can also disable that message block in the host settings

Offline tha_watcha  
#11 Posted : 09 August 2018 19:33:40(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,879
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1181 time(s) in 1011 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
FYI: I tried to upload several pictures, but at some point the upload dialog stopped working on this forum (http://yetanotherforum.net/forum). I could upload just this one picture, and the upload dialog does not work anymore.


Looks like there was an sql error, need to investigate on that issue!

Offline tecman  
#12 Posted : 10 August 2018 13:37:51(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
Originally Posted by: tha_watcha Go to Quoted Post
Quote:Second, the buttons in the &lt;Wanna join the discussion?!&gt; block are drawn correctly, but the whole block looks like the following depending on the browser's window width:

I will provide a better solution for that old theme, if you prefer you can also disable that message block in the host settings


I found the "Show Connect Message after first Message:" checkbox in the host settings and unchecked it. Unfortunately, this did not help to remove the "Wanna join the discussion?!" block in our forum threads.

Fix this problem in the forthcoming update too, please. I'd prefer to turn this block off in our forum.

Edited by user 10 August 2018 13:39:52(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline tecman  
#13 Posted : 10 August 2018 13:46:26(UTC)
tecman


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 20/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 116

Thanks: 8 times
I also noticed that now we always have the horizontal scroll bar visible in the browser window if the window is enough to accommodate the forum contents:
2018-08-10_14h40_22.png
This scrollbar allows us to scroll the page horizontally by some pixels.
It seems, this is caused by an improper location of the <div class="outerMenuContainer"> element at the top:
2018-08-10_14h41_05.png
Fix this problem in the nearest update too, please.
Offline tha_watcha  
#14 Posted : 10 August 2018 18:14:17(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,879
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1181 time(s) in 1011 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: tha_watcha Go to Quoted Post
Quote:Second, the buttons in the &lt;Wanna join the discussion?!&gt; block are drawn correctly, but the whole block looks like the following depending on the browser's window width:

I will provide a better solution for that old theme, if you prefer you can also disable that message block in the host settings


I found the "Show Connect Message after first Message:" checkbox in the host settings and unchecked it. Unfortunately, this did not help to remove the "Wanna join the discussion?!" block in our forum threads.

Fix this problem in the forthcoming update too, please. I'd prefer to turn this block off in our forum.


Yes that setting remove this block. Did you click on "save" to update the host settings, or is there a problem with saving the host settings?

Offline tha_watcha  
#15 Posted : 10 August 2018 18:20:03(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 06/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,879
Germany

Thanks: 73 times
Was thanked: 1181 time(s) in 1011 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tecman Go to Quoted Post
I also noticed that now we always have the horizontal scroll bar visible in the browser window if the window is enough to accommodate the forum contents:
2018-08-10_14h40_22.png
This scrollbar allows us to scroll the page horizontally by some pixels.
It seems, this is caused by an improper location of the <div class="outerMenuContainer"> element at the top:
2018-08-10_14h41_05.png
Fix this problem in the nearest update too, please.


Does this happen in all browsers? Can you post the url to your forum or send me the url via PM?

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error