mack
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 25/11/2005
Now that YAF will be using membership provider in the new version, I have a question.

I have several, large websites, that I would like to make all the forums, website login, etc work together. My team is also working on a game, which, I'd also like to be integrated with everything else. I basically want to know if it's possible I can set up a dedicated database for just the membership related tables (ASPNET Membership provider). I want to do this because I want my account-related information stored on a dedicated database so that I can mirror that across multiple servers in the future (Don't need to ATM). I run 3 forum systems and I would like all the forums to use the database so that the account information is the same, but nothing else. I want them running on different app pools... Each forum has different settings, themes, etc, and I want them stored on the proper database. In the future, I may also have to run a dedicated account server. Right now I have two instances of SQL05 running on separate accounts. One is for website/forums and one is for customers.

Basically by doing this, it allows me to expand much easier with a lot less work. Since I have a game in the making, I want this all integrated together. I'm also hosting another project for someone else, and I want their forums/accounts integrated with my stuff.

This shouldn't be too hard, even if I had to mod it (I don't want to though) I can. Has anyone done this?
Sponsor
victorantos
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 29/10/2008
I have 2 yaf forums and I want the second one(yaf2) to use the membership tables from the first one(yaf1).
All I did is to add the connectionstring(conn1) from yaf1 to yaf2 and change in web.config for the yaf2 membership section connectionstring="conn1"...

but yaf2 still uses his own tables for users, why?
do I need to restart the web application(yaf2) so the new web.config configuration should load ?

update: I found that 1.9.1.8 (yaf1) does not implement .NET v2.0 membership & roles. v1.9.3 (yaf2) is implementing... so can I upgrade from 1.9.1.8 to 1.9.3 RC2 ?
update: tried to upgrade, but I'm geting erros:
Index (zero based) must be greater than or equal to zero and less than the size of the argument list.

offtopic: this editor does not looks ok in Chrome, I don't see icons and texteditor is very small

victorantos
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 29/10/2008
succeded to upgrade after commenting this line of code:
StatsLastPost.Text = String.Format( PageContext.Localization.GetText( "stats_lastpost" ), YafDateTime.FormatDateTimeTopic( ( DateTime ) statisticsDataRow ["LastPost"] ) );

from controls/forumstatistics.ascx.cs

I had romanian localization on my old forum, thats why this code throws error
mack
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 25/11/2005
Just wondering if anyone knows how to do this. Does YAF use a custom provider?
Mek
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 12/07/2005
Yes YAF uses a custom provider. Yes you can have your forums, websites et all using the same membership provider (providing the AppName in the web.config for the provider is the same) and then they'll all use the same user database.
Roles and Profiles will also work accross them all (thats the point of the provider).

A problem will probably occur if you want the same membership but different roles for each app, that will require some experimentation/tweaking if I remember correctly from my own testing.

Good luck,
Mek.

UserPostedImage 

"It's a case of RTFM.. the only problem being we don't have a manual!"

When I post FP:Mek in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting. (Yes I stole this off Ederon 🙂 )
mack
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 25/11/2005
Mek wrote:

Yes YAF uses a custom provider. Yes you can have your forums, websites et all using the same membership provider (providing the AppName in the web.config for the provider is the same) and then they'll all use the same user database.
Roles and Profiles will also work accross them all (thats the point of the provider).

A problem will probably occur if you want the same membership but different roles for each app, that will require some experimentation/tweaking if I remember correctly from my own testing.

Good luck,
Mek.



Thanks. I'll mess with it, if not I can deal with it another way.
Forum Jump  
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum.
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
  • You cannot create polls in this forum.
  • You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

About Us

The YAF.NET is an open source .NET forum project. YAF.NET is supported by an team of international developers who are build community by building community software.

Powered by Resharper Donate with PayPal button

Project Twitter Updates

Copyright © YetAnotherForum.NET & Ingo Herbote. All rights reserved